

New Mexico Hunter Jumper Association

Board of Directors Meeting – Class A Year

New Mexico Hunter-Jumper Association P.O. Box 10357 Albuquerque, NM 87184

April 10, 2024

CALL TO ORDER: At 6:40 p.m. the meeting was called to order by President, Becky Newmon. The meeting was held at El Bruno's Restaurante and Cantina, located at 8806 4th Street Northwest, Los Ranchos de Albuquerque, NM 87114.

BOARD MEMBERS PRESENT: Becky Newmon, Hannah Shotwell, Taylor Rahn, Molly Mazer

ABSENT: Grace Mazer, Brittany Jorgenson, Tillery Stahr

MEMBER GUESTS PRESENT: Brittany, Christian, and Sophia Hasse

Non-Member Guests Present: N/A

<u>MINUTES</u>: Taylor motioned to approve the minutes from the previously scheduled board meetings held on March 5, 2024. Molly seconded the motion, and all members present were in favor. The minutes will be finalized on NMHJA letterhead and will be posted on the website.

OLD BUSINESS:

• Annual report – completed

<u>**Reports from Officers:**</u>

The President of the Association, Becky Newmon

- Discussion of spring horse show (Ride on Route 66)
 - o 92 horses in attendance.
 - o There was discussion of hosting a horse show October 4-6, 2024.
 - Need to get dates out early and encourage people who are coming from out of town to book their hotel early.
 - o There was discussion of how the show worked with one arena. Becky said that the show ran long, but it was doable with the one ring. If we need to we can run the stirrups in the small ring.
- There was discussion of feedback we received
 - Switching class orders on the schedule so that the Pro class runs before the Amateur cards
 - Fun/non-competitive classes

- o Beginner rider/horse division is very useful
- Taylor moved to have Brittany Hasse join the board as member-at-large. Molly seconded. All board members present were in favor.

The Vice President of the Association, Brittany Jorgensen

• Nothing to report.

The Treasurer of the Association, Molly Mazer

- Checking: \$51,609.59
- Savings: \$12,220.18
 - Molly just paid for Ride on Route 66 ribbons and the full amount for the facility.
- Total profit: just over \$17,000
 - There was discussion of why our profits were better
 - Low prize costs (first place prizes donated by Lotus Behavioral Health)
 - Prize money was sponsored (Laura Simpson collected sponsorships)
 - Number of horses

The Secretary of the Association, Hannah Shotwell

• Nothing to report.

Reports from Standing Committees:

The Points & Membership Committee Chair, Becky Newmon

- 69 Members
- 76 Horses
- Prizes
 - Ribbons left over. Carole did a ribbon inventory so we can buy based off of that.
 - Champion prizes left over.

The Rules & By-laws Committee Chair, Taylor Rahn

- There was discussion of the HIPICO Faux Shows
 - o At least one day of showing every month from May-October
 - These shows will be pointed with C points
 - Taylor discussed with Chenoa our prior reservations with pointing the

shows, including the unclear warm up class and hunter judging.

• There was discussion of the proposed Zone 8 rule change re: Year End Awards.

The Awards Committee Chair, Tillery Stahr

• Nothing to report.

The Junior Representative, Grace Mazer

• Nothing to report.

The Website & Newsletter Editor, Hannah Shotwell

- Social media post re: point levels. They can contact Becky if they have questions, but we try to align our points with USEF.
- Update website/sponsorships.
- Post re: October show
- Quarterly newsletter
 - *o* Recognizing/interviewing members and trainers (junior member)
 - *o* Blurbs/updates from the board members

New Business:

Previous Incomplete Action Items:

Current Action Items:

- Recruiting board members post
- Strategic planning meeting (where do we want to be in five years)

ADJOURNMENT: Taylor moved to adjourn the meeting. Molly seconded the motion. The meeting adjourned at 8:01 pm. The next NMHJA Board meeting will be held on April 10, 2024.

Attachments:

1.

2.

H. Showit and were approved by the

Minutes prepared by Hannah Shotwell _ Board of Directors on August 5, 2024.

NMHJA Board of Directors by Class Year

Class Year A	Class Year B
Becky Newmon, President, Points & Membership Chair	Brittany Jorgensen, Vice President
(505) 350-4390	(505) 220-1047
beckynewmon@yahoo.com	Britj10@outook.com
Hannah Shotwell, Secretary	Molly Mazer, Treasurer
(505) 228-7618	(401) 954-1397
heshotwell@gmail.com	mollymazerlicsw@gmail.com
Tillery Stahr, Awards Committee Chair	Grace Mazer, Member-at-large
(760) 712-7943	gracemazer123@gmail.com
tstahr@ymail.com	
Taylor Rahn, Rules and By-laws	Junior Representative
(505) 573-9380	VACANT
taylorsrahn@yahoo.com	